Loading Posts...

Wi-Fi Sense Windows 10

wi-fi sense Microsoft windows 10
wi-fi sense Microsoft windows 10

What is Wi-Fi Sense on Windows 10?

Wi-Fi Sense connects you automatically to shared Wi-Fi networks without ever giving them your password. You can use Wi-Fi Sense to automatically connect your new Windows 10 PC to shared Wi-Fi networks without knowing passwords to the people sharing it as long as you are friends on networks like facebook.  Microsoft enables Wi-Fi Sense automatically on Windows 10, but it does not enable sharing of the available networks. You have to manually choose to share your Wi-Fi network by clicking a box that says “Share network with my contacts” when logging in.

When you share your network, all of your contacts from Facebook as well as Skype, Outlook.com and a few other services can automatically log onto your Wi-Fi network when their Windows 10 PCs are in range.

What security is in place for Wi-Fi Sense?

With Wi-Fi Sense, users that are friends with you on social networks don’t need to enter a password to log on.  The clause to wi-fi sense is that the users must have a windows 10 PC.  It Is also non-shareable once shared initially.  This means you cannot daisy chain connections to other non-known users through a proxy. Wi-Fi Sense also stores your Wi-Fi network password on a Microsoft server. It’s encrypted, so even if a hacker were to break in, your password would appear illegible. Windows 10 also does not allow you to share access to corporate Wi-Fi networks that use special security protocols.

Your contacts do not have access to other computers, devices or files stored on your network. This is made possible by disabling network discovery preventing other users from seeing files on your computer.  Be warned though, by enabling network discovery, you are opening yourself up to get hacked.

DEVPROCB’S Recommendation for Wi-Fi Sense

Disable it!  With everything going on now a days with security flaws and trust in the cloud.  The last thing you need is another way to leave yourself vulnerable.  Giving someone your wifi key is much safer in the long run.  Also with newer routers, they have guest modes which utilize hardware separation for your computers on the network.  Do not enable another way for people to end up with your information, even if Wi-Fi sense for Windows 10 sounds cool.  This tools is a stalkers dream.  Be safe and disable it.  I am sure many will scream of paranoia, but with something like this, we recommend this be a tool you bypass.

0
HeartHeart
0
HahaHaha
0
LoveLove
0
WowWow
0
YayYay
0
SadSad
0
AngryAngry
0
CrapCrap
Voted Thanks!

DEVPRO

CIO at a Large Private Company, Web Developer, Web Designer,

Leave a Comment

Loading Posts...